Michasiw named Telus Cup most valuable player; shares top goalie award with Ingram

Dave Leaderhouse
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

MOOSE JAW – The Prince Albert Mintos were well represented at the 2014 Telus Cup awards banquet on Friday with the goaltending tandem of Lane Michasiw and Connor Ingram getting called to the stage as the top netminders in the tournament.

Michasiw, however, heard his name called a second time when he was selected as the tournament’s most valuable player.

Both Ingram and Michasiw have been nothing short of spectacular during the round-robin portion of the tournament as Michasiw is 2-0-1 with a 0.33 goals-against average and shutouts in his last two starts while Ingram is 1-0-1 with a 1.00 GAA in his two appearances.

The Mintos have now gone undefeated in all 19 games they have played at the Telus Cup dating back to their back-to-back championship seasons in 2006-07 – a new tournament record – and they have allowed just three goals in five preliminary matches – another tournament record.

Michasiw gets his name added to a trophy that boasts some pretty impressive winners including Sidney Crosby in 2002 and Dany Heatley in 1997.

Other players picking up hardware on Friday included Tanner Wishnowski of the Okanagan Rockets as he was picked the top forward, to go with his top scorer honour; Dawson Davidson of the Moose Jaw Generals was named the top defensive player; Liam Findlay of the Rockets picked up the most sportsmanlike player award and Oliver Jacobs of the Toronto Young Nationals was presented with the Esso Scholarship.

The Mintos and Rockets kick off semifinal Saturday at 2 p.m. with Toronto taking on the Grenadiers de Chateauguay in the other contest beginning at 6 p.m.

The winners of those matches will square off in the gold-medal game on Sunday at 3 p.m. while the losers will battle for the bronze medal on Sunday at 11 a.m.


Organizations: Telus, Toronto Young Nationals

Geographic location: MOOSE JAW, Toronto

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page