Sask. Hockey Hall of Fame announces newest members; banquet in P.A. in July

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

A number of the newest inductees, or their representatives, who are selected to be going into the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame were on hand for a press conference on Saturday. From left, are Jim Neilson, Wes Smith, Bill Chow on behalf of Wayne Kartusch, Dave Gottselig and Karen Ahlstrom on behalf of Johnny Gottselig, Mark Odnokon on behalf of the 1981-82 Prince Albert Raiders and Brian Propp. Jack Brodsky, a member of the selection committee for the hall of fame joins the group at the far right. Also going into the hall are Brad McCrimmon, Emile Francis, Bruce Clements and the 1972 Rosetown Red Wings. The banquet honouring all of the inductees will be July 18 at the Art Hauser Centre with tickets now on sale by calling the Prince Albert Raider office at 306-764-GAME.

It was Hockey Day in Saskatchewan on Saturday and fittingly the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame announced its class of inductees for 2014 at a press conference in Prince Albert.

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame, which has been in existence for just three years, will honour four players, three builders, one official, one grassroots volunteer and two teams when a banquet is held at the Art Hauser Centre on July 18.

Going into the builder's category are: Brian Propp - a veteran of 1016 NHL games with the Philadelphia Flyers, Boston Bruins, Minnesota North Stars and Hartford Whalers; Brad McCrimmon - a former Prince Albert Raider who dressed for 1222 NHL games with Boston, Philadelphia, the Calgary Flames, Detroit Red Wings, Phoenix Coyotes and Hartford before becoming a coach for more than a decade until his tragic passing in a plane crash in Russia two years ago; Johnny Gottselig - a two-time Stanley Cup champion with the Chicago Blackhawks in the 1930s; Jim Neilson - another veteran of more than 1000 NHL games with the "Chief" playing for the New York Rangers, California Golden Seals and Cleveland Barons before completing his professional career with the Edmonton Oilers while that franchise was still in the World Hockey Association.

Long-time Raider head coach and general manager Terry Simpson headlines the group of builders being inducted while former Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League president Wayne Kartusch and Emile Francis, a long-time NHL player and coach from North Battleford, are also included in that category.

Wes Smith is the lone official being inducted while Bruce Clements from Shellbrook goes in the grassroots category.

The 1981-82 Prince Albert Raiders, who captured the fourth and final Centennial Cup championship, are being feted in the team category as are the 1972 Rosetown Red Wings, the Intermediate AA champions from that year.

Tickets for the banquet are $800 for a table of eight with single tickets costing $100 each. Tickets can be purchased at the Raider office or by calling 306-764-GAME.


Organizations: Hockey Hall of Fame, NHL, Prince Albert Art Hauser Centre Philadelphia Flyers Boston Bruins Calgary Flames Detroit Red Wings Phoenix Coyotes Chicago Blackhawks New York Rangers Edmonton Oilers World Hockey Association Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Geographic location: Saskatchewan, P.A., Boston Philadelphia Hartford Russia North Battleford Shellbrook

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page