Prince Albert police officer honoured with commission

Staff ~ The Prince Albert Daily Herald
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

A Prince Albert police officer has received a prestigious commission along with four counterparts from municipalities across the province.

Inspector Jeff Rowden of the Prince Albert Police Service received his Commissioned Officer designation in a ceremony at Government House in Regina.

Commissioned officers command their specific unit or service and receive their command authority directly from the Crown.

Besides Rowden, other police officers who received this year’s designation included Inspector Richard McKenna of the Moose Jaw Police Service, Inspector Sheree Ortman and Inspector Corey Zaharuk of the Regina Police Service and Inspector Mitch Yuzdepski of the Saskatoon Police Service.

Traditionally, the presentation of formal commissions was made to RCMP officers to recognize their achievement of a senior rank. Amendments to the Police Act in 2005 made Saskatchewan the first province to present Lieutenant-Governor’s Commissions to senior-ranking municipal police officers.

Organizations: Prince Albert, Government House, Moose Jaw Police Service Regina Police Service Saskatoon Police Service RCMP

Geographic location: Saskatchewan

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page