Prince Albert citizens earn volunteer awards

Staff ~ The Prince Albert Daily Herald
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Some Prince Albert volunteers will be among the people honoured Friday by the Lifesaving Society.

Lt.-Gov. Vaughn Solomon Schofield will hand out two bravery awards and also help acknowledge the work of volunteers from across Saskatchewan on Friday afternoon at the Government House in Regina.

The Prince Albert residents being honoured are Faye Neiser, Jordan Holmen, Nicole Lychak-Smith and Lorri Ma. The City of Prince Albert is also being recognized.

Two men will be honoured for their bravery.

• Peter Chandler rescued an individual trapped in a submerged vehicle in 2012. 

• Germain Dauk of Naicam rescued three friends from drowning after the boat they were in capsized during a storm. The rescue actually occurred back in 1973 but due to the Branch’s 50th anniversary, the event is being commemorated.

The other volunteers being honoured are from:

• Regina -- David Bishop, Ken Bartnik, Jacy Bartnik, Nicholas Fudger, Dwight Soroka, Natalie Mitchell and Logan Gamble.

• Saskatoon -- Sara Arthur and Dean Stanley.

• Yorkton -- Jessica Matsalla, Laura Lazurko and Cole Krochak,

• Wilkie -- Danica Miller.

• Moose Jaw -- Shelly Howe.

• Humboldt -- Colleen Scott.

The Bengough and District Regional Park and City of Meadow Lake are also receiving awards.

The Lifesaving Society, also known as the Royal Life Saving Society Canada, was founded in Saskatchewan in 1964.=

Organizations: Prince Albert, Lifesaving Society, Government House Royal Life Saving Society Canada

Geographic location: Saskatchewan, Regina, Prince Albert Saskatoon Yorkton Moose Jaw District Regional Park Meadow Lake

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page