Corrections employees’ service honoured

Staff ~ The Prince Albert Daily Herald
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

On Monday, 40 men and women from across the province were recognized for their career achievements in the provincial correctional institutes.

Both Lt.-Gov. Vaughn Solomon Schofield and Corrections and Policing Minister Christine Tell honoured the recipients for their service in the corrections field.

“The contributions made by each of these dedicated people to help keep our communities safe, and to the rehabilitation of individuals in conflict with the law, are both admirable and important,” Tell said in a release.  “Congratulations to all the recipients -- they are strong role models who deserve special recognition.”

Recipients of the Corrections Exemplary Service Awards must have worked for at least 10 years in a correctional institute, parole or probation office and demonstrated good conduct, excellence and devotion to their duty.

Those who have worked in the corrections field for at least 20 years are commemorated with an Exemplary Service Medals and eight previous medal recipients received Exemplary Service Bars, recognizing an additional decade of service.

The awards were established in 1984 to recognize the hazardous conditions faced by peace officers working with offenders.

Saskatchewan Justice 2013 honourees from Prince Albert are Edgar Ahenakew, Larry Aquilon, John Beatty, Ken Berkach, Ron Bonscescu, Peggy Burke, Cyrel Frandsen, Don Howland, Kevin Kerr, Kevin Korycki, Connie Lehky, Christopher Lyons, Lorna Martsinskiw, Barry Mayoros, Dwayne Mills, Arlene Neilson, Blayne Nelson, Elaine Park, Lorie Ross, Dawn Sinclair, Gord Stiglitz, Allen Stubbs, Cathy Suchorab, Rebecca Turner, Lorne Valuck, Esther Wolfe and Bernard Zimmerman.

Organizations: Corrections Exemplary Service, Exemplary Service Bars, Prince Albert

Geographic location: Saskatchewan

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page